Mayborn Conference Logo

This Year's Conference: July 19-21, 2013 - Registration is closed!

Schedule & Speakers

Click here to see the 2013 Mayborn Conference Schedule

July 19th

July 20th

July 21st

Schedule Highlights

Writing workshops.
General Agents Session.
Southwest Soiree at Austin Ranch.

Close Encounters of the Literary Kind.
Literary Lights Dinner & Award Presentations.

Plenary sessions spotlighting some of our esteemed speakers.

Conference bookstore sponsored by:

Barnes & Noble College

See recommended reading list

Keynote Speakers

Susan Orlean
As one of the most creative literary journalists of today, Susan Orlean is the author of the best-selling book, The Orchid Thief, which was made into the Oscar-winning movie, Adaptation. Her latest work, Rin Tin Tin: The Life and the Legend tells the story of Rin Tin Tin’s journey from orphaned puppy to movie star and international icon. 

Rick Atkinson
Atkinson served as a reporter, foreign correspondent, and senior editor for 25 years at The Washington Post. He is also the best-selling author of The Long Gray Line, In the Company of Soldiers and his latest Liberation Trilogy. Atkinson's list of awards includes three Pulitzer Prizes, as well as awards for reporting and for book writing.

Skip Hollandsworth
Hollandsworth has been a finalist four times for a National Magazine Award, the magazine industry’s equivalent of the Pulitzer Prize, and in 2010 he won the National Magazine Award in feature writing for Still Life, his story about a young man who, after suffering a crippling football injury in high school, spent the next 33 years in his bedroom, unable to move.

Writers' Resources

Visit our Writers' Resources page for tips and tricks from the pros!

This Year's Speakers

Caroline Alexander is a best-selling author. She studied philosophy and theology at Oxford.
Rick Atkinson is a Pulitzer Prize winning author and military historian.
Hugh Aynesworth covered President John F. Kennedy's assassination as a reporter for The Dallas Morning News in 1963.
Helen Benedict is a professor at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism and the author of six novels.
Kelley Benham is a writer and editor at the Tampa Bay Times and has won numerous awards during her time there.
Amanda Bennett is executive editor/projects and investigations for Bloomberg New and is also the author of six books.
Stories are like human beings: Everyone has a beating heart. Donna Britt's calling as a writer is to find that essence.
Mark Bryant is the editor-in-chief and co-founder of Byliner.
Alfredo Corchado is the Mexico bureau chief for The Dallas Morning News.
David Dobbs is author of the hit memoir, "My Mother’s Lover," and writes features and essays for the New York Times.
Jim Donovan is the founder and president of Jim Donovan Literary, a literary agency in Dallas, Texas.
Kevin Fedarko was a staff writer at Time magazine from 1991 to 1998.
Ben Fountain is the author of a short story collection, Brief Encounters with Che Guevara, as well as others.
Tom French is a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter who has spent the past quarter century redefining journalism.
Reyna Grande is an author, speaker and educator.
Jeff Guinn is the bestselling author of numerous books, including Go Down Together and The Last Gunfight.
Paul Hendrickson is an accomplished author and spent 34 years as a feature writer for the Washington Post.
Skip Hollandsworth is a native Texan. After graduating from TCU, he worked as a reporter and columnist in Dallas.
Jim Hornfischer is both a World War II historian and a leading literary agent.
Tom Huang is Sunday & Enterprise Editor at The Dallas Morning News and a Fellow at The Poynter Institute.
Gregg Jones' journalism career has spanned 30 years and five continents and has earned him a number of honors.
Kevin Merida, 56, is managing editor of The Washington Post, and oversees all news and features coverage.
He is the current president of Biographers International Organization (BIO).
Bonnie Nadell is president of the Hill Nadell Literary Agency and represents both fiction and nonfiction writers.
Sonia Nazario has spent more than 20 years reporting and writing about social issues.
As one of today's most creative literary journalists, Susan Orlean is the author of the best-seller, "The Orchid Thief."
John Parsley is an Executive Editor at Little Brown and Company
David R. Patterson is an agent with Foundry Literary + Media.
Ron Powers is a National Emmy Award winner and was the first television critic to win a Pulitzer Prize.
Alan Prendergast is an award-winning journalist reporting about the justice system.
Evan Ratliff is the co-founder and editor of Atavist.
BJ Robbins' agency represents both fiction and nonfiction.
Stephen Rodrick is a contributing writer for The New York Times Magazine and a contributing editor for Men’s Journal.
Tony Schwalm graduated from Georgia Southern College with a degree in English in 1984.
Hampton Sides is the author of Ghost Soldiers, Hellhound On His Trail and other bestselling works of narrative history.
Larry K. Snider is a photographer who has been taking photographs around the world for the last 30 years.
Doug J. Swanson has written five novels and is an editor in the projects department at The Dallas Morning News.
Dave Tarrant started at The Dallas Morning News in 1984 as a suburban reporter.
John Vaillant has been published in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, National Geographic, and Outside, among others.