Richard Pratt Smith Scholarship

Undergraduate Scholarship

The Richard Pratt Smith Scholarship was established by Richard Smith’s nephew, Wade Bradley Smith. Richard Smith was an alumnus of UNT's journalism program and devoted his career to working in the field of journalism. He was interested in news and photojournalism. Along with being an avid journalist, he was Austin bureau chief for the San Antonio Express-News.

  • Applicants must meet minimum entrance and continuing academic performance standards of the Mayborn School of Journalism.
  • Applicants must maintain full-time enrollment at UNT, unless they have fewer than twice the number of semester hours required to be full-time remaining in their degree program.
  • Applicants must be enrolled as full-time students in the News Concentration in the Mayborn School of Journalism.
  • Preference is given to undergraduate juniors and transfer students.
Does this award still have funds available?: 
Maybe (contact the Journalism office for more details)