UNT | University of North Texas

Search form

Annual Barbara Jordan Media Awards Luncheon

The 34th Annual Barbara Jordan Media Awards Luncheon takes place
April 13, 2017 | 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. | Apogee Club at UNT Apogee Stadium

The event is hosted by the University of North Texas in conjunction with the Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism, the Division of Institutional Equity & Diversity and the College of Public Arrairs & Community Service. These entities are also partnering with the Texas Governor's Committee on People with Disabilities.

The Barbara Jordan Media Awards recognize print, broadcast, video and internet media professionals and students for outstanding presentation of individuals with disabilities.

In 1982, the Texas Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities established the Barbara Jordan Media Awards to acknowledge outstanding communication in Texas on the subject of disabilities. The awards are presented annually to media professionals, students and organizations for eliminating attitudinal and social barriers and for promoting accurate, respectful and progressive portrayals of people with disabilities.

A Texas Legend
One of Texas’ most distinguished citizens and foremost spokespersons for all people, Barbara Jordan was a Houston native and U.S. congresswoman. Known as a remarkable orator who broke barriers and built bridges, Jordan received the Presidential Medal of Freedom and served as the governor of Texas for one day in 1972. Gov. Preston Smith and Lt. Gov. Ben Barnes were both out of state. In 1973, Jordan was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis and eventually used a cane and wheelchair. She passed away in 1996, leaving an indelible legacy of courtesy and respect for everyone.

The Barbara Jordan Media Award is a specially commissioned three-inch bronze medallion designed by internationally renowned sculptor David Deming.

Sponsorship Levels
Share your commitment to honoring excellence in media. Reserve your sponsorship now for the 34th Annual Barbara Jordan Media Awards Luncheon:

Diamond - VIP Patron Friend
$1,000 $500 $250
Premium seating for table of 8
General seating for 8 guests General seating for 4 guests
Sponsor name prominently
displayed in event program
Sponsor name in program Sponsor name in program
Recognition on event website Recognition on event website Recognition on event website








Purchase individual seats:
Single seating: $25 each
Student tickets: $15 each (EUID required)

Special accommodations provided – contact us to discuss special needs.

Visit gov.texas.gov/disabilities/.

To register, click here!

For more information, contact:

Brandee Hartley

Christi Hestand