Scripps Howard Fund Emerging Journalists Program | Mayborn School of Journalism

Scripps Howard Fund Emerging Journalists Program

The Mayborn School teams up with the Scripps Howard Fund to train the next generation of journalists.

The Mayborn School of Journalism is thrilled to be one of two universities chosen to be a part of the Emerging Journalists program, an initiative by the Scripps Howard Fund to help create the newsrooms of tomorrow. This three-year program provides $300,000 to fund a variety of academic programs and student scholarships.

Apply to the program

Teacher Ambassador Application

Download one-page flyer

Consent Forms

Parental Consent Form

UNT Consent and Release Form for Youth Participation

2023 Update!

Scripps Howard Fund Emerging Journalists Program

After spending a week on campus in June learning from Mayborn faculty and mentors throughout the journalism field, this year's cadre of high school journalists have fanned out to learn from the experts serving in internships at various local media in the region.

A special thanks to Dr. Dorothy Bland, Principal Lecturer Neil Foote and Workshop leader Leah Waters!

Check out where they are and some of the stellar work they're doing.

Fatima Syed Fatima Syed
Dallas Free Press
Carl Hu
Star Local Media
Oliver Capito
Community Impact
Avery White
The Facts (Clute, TX)
Genevieve Adamee
San Antonio Report
Alfred Dozier IV
Houston Chronicle
Ava Flores
San Antonio Report
Katie Gerbasich
Community Impact
Angelina X Liu
Texas Metro News
Maya Palavali
Texas Metro News
Iniya Nathan
Garland Journal/Texas Metro News
Ashley Henderson
Denton Record-Chronicle
Amanda Hare
The Dallas Morning News

Congratulations to our new cadre of Teaching Ambassadors for the 2023 Scripps Howard Fund Emerging Journalists program.

Candace Bagwell
Heritage High School, Frisco
Sara Boyle
Stratford High School, Houston
Kristi Canon
Lake Ridge High School, Grand Prairie
Britney Crowe
Samuel Clemens High School, Schertz
Katie Dean
Robert E. Lee High School, Baytown
Trisa Dyer
Denison High School, Denison
Margaret Edmonson
Smithson Valley High School, San Antonio
Sara Gonzales
Patricia E. Paetow High School, Katy
Stephen Green
Caney Creek High School, Conroe
Tabitha Houchens
Redwater High School, Texarkana
Lillian Harris
Bellaire High School, Bellaire
Kenneth Perkins
Weatherford High School, Weatherford
Margie Raper
Rock Hill High School, Frisco
Kari Riemer
Hendrickson High School, Pflugerville
Brenda Slatton
San Antonio Christian High School, San Antonio
John Sohel
Lake Ridge High School, Mansfield
Linda Wilson
Caprock High School, Amarillo
Melinda Wood
Summer Creek High School, Houston

News & Updates About the Program

The Mayborn School's Scripps Howard Fund Emerging Journalists Program is well into its second successful year, with online summer workshops and interns working at many regional news outlets.

Check out some of the stories our students reported - and published - in recent months:

"We Are Blood calls for donations ahead of holiday season as Austin metro sees supply shortage" - Leila Saidane

"Denton animal fosterers help nurture pets until forever home is found" - Priya Leal

"Texas Health launches new residency program in Denton" - Priya Leal

Read the full press release from UNT

Download the full press release from Scripps Howard Fund

Check out exciting news coverage of the Mayborn's emerging journalist program