UNT | University of North Texas

Search form

Mayborn School of Journalism faculty bring decades of experience in the media to the classroom. Mayborn faculty have received national honors such as duPont Awards, Peabody Awards and Walter Cronkite Awards.

Experienced, Attentive Faculty

The key to your success

You’ll have an opportunity to study with some of the most respected professionals in their fields, including:

Thorne Anderson

A specialist in photojournalism, visual communication and multimedia storytelling, Anderson has worked internationally as a freelance photojournalist for publications including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune and Newsweek. He is a co-author and photographer of Unembedded: Four Independent Photojournalists on the War in IraqRead more»

Dr. Sheri Broyles

Dr. Broyles’ professional background in advertising and public relations has led to research in creativity such as the creative personality, creative portfolios, and the study of women within creative departments. Dr. Broyles has published work debunking subliminal advertising and is currently working on a study of advertising in Cuba.  Read more»

Dr. Tracy Everbach

Dr. Everbach brings to UNT 12 years of experience as a newspaper reporter at The Dallas Morning News. Her research interests include gender and race in media, newsroom management and sports coverage.  Read more»

Cornelius Foote

A longtime media executive, Foote specializes in the future of media, social media and journalism, media management and multimedia storytelling. He has worked at the Miami Herald, the Washington Post and The Dallas Morning News. He is president of Foote Communications, a media consulting firm in Dallas.  Read more»

Megan Middleton "The Mayborn is staffed with professionals who have tremendous experience, won awards and traveled. Also, because UNT is less than an hour’s drive from Dallas and Fort Worth, the chances of having success in the journalism job market are very high."

Gabrielle Ebron
Public Relations student