UNT | University of North Texas

Search form

Frank W. and Sue Mayborn

School of Journalism

In an effort to keep everyone healthy,
our on-campus operations are closed until further notice.

UNT is serving students remotely. Please stay connected.

Stay up to date about UNT’s response to the novel Coronavirus (COVID-19).

When you graduate from the Mayborn School of Journalism, you’ll have the experience you need to succeed, like alumna Liliana Villarreal (’11), assistant marketing director, iHeartMedia.

Find Success with Your Degree

Your future begins now

Denton, named one of the 10 Best College Towns in the nation, combines an active music and arts scene with a family-friendly hometown feel. UNT students also benefit from our proximity to the Dallas-Fort Worth area, which is the fifth largest media market in the country and has the fourth highest concentration of Fortune 500 companies in the United States. Recent U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics data shows DFW’s job market is the best in the country.

Notable alumni of the Mayborn School of Journalism include:

Becky Kimbro
Becky Kimbro (’08)
vice president, marketing
Texas Rangers Baseball


Kristi Nelson

Kristi Nelson (’94)
KXASTV/Channel 5 in Dallas
  • Leona Allen (’86)
    editorial board member, The Dallas Morning News
  • Graham Douglas (’05)
    head of creative, Vimeo
  • George Foster (’72)
    chief executive officer, Foster Marketing
  • Theresa Gage (’90)
    vice president of brand partnerships, inMobi
  • Rick Gershon (’04)
    freelance filmmaker and photographer
  • Samantha Guzman (’11, ’14 M.A.)
    associate producer, KERA-FM
  • Cynthia Izaguirre (’97)
    co-anchor, WFAA-TV/ Channel 8 in Dallas
  • Michael J. Mooney (’07 M.A.)
    freelance writer and New York Times bestselling author
  • James Perez (’03)
    national sales manager, CBS Television/KTXA-TV
  • Bill Perkins (’65)
    managing partner, Potomac Communications
  • Kim Phillips (’09 M.J.)
    vice president, Denton Convention and Visitors Bureau
  • Ashlea Ramirez (’16)
    project manager, Wieden + Kennedy
  • Valeria Sosa (’11)
    account manager, Grey Advertising
  • Brooke Traister (’09)
    senior media relations specialist, Children’s Health
  • Tina Young (’91)
    founder and CEO, MarketWave

Read profiles of more successful Mayborn alumni

Email the Mayborn:


For prospective student information: moremayborn@unt.edu

For transfer course information: JOURAdvising@unt.edu

For inquiries, internship & other inquiries: journalism@unt.edu