Denton - April 7, 2022 - The Mayborn School of Journalism is hosting their 12th annual Celebrate Mayborn Awards and Scholarships gala, themed Mission Mayborn. The event will be held in person for the first time in three years on Thursday April 28 at 6:00 p.m. and is open to Mayborn students, family and friends. This year, Executive Producer Joey Cole from NBCUniversal will be a featured speaker.

Each year, the Mayborn School awards more than $360,000 in scholarships. This year, 137 students will receive financial awards. In addition, the school's annual outstanding students in each academic track will be announced.

There will be several outstanding awards announced, with the biggest one being the C.E. Shuford Hall of Honor Award granted to Mayborn alumna Dustee Jenkins. Other professionals who will receive major awards are:

Terri West Christina Rodriguez Leona Allen Ford
L. Michelle Smith Sam Baker Joe Terrel
Renee Crossman Robert Miller Shawn Gadley
Brooke Traister, APR Jacqueline Lambiase, Ph.D. Eline de Bruijn

Those who will not be able to attend in person can watch the live stream on MSOJ's Facebook, Instagram and YouTube and can also follow along through #CelebrateMayborn22 on Twitter.