UNT | University of North Texas

Search form

Frank W. and Sue Mayborn

School of Journalism

In an effort to keep everyone healthy,
our on-campus operations are closed until further notice.

UNT is serving students remotely. Please stay connected.

Stay up to date about UNT’s response to the novel Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Ten Spurs

Ten Spurs is a literary journal produced by the Mayborn Graduate Institute of Journalism each year. The ten writers are the winners of the writing contest of the Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference from the previous year. There are six winners -- three from the reported narrative category and three from personal essay. The four runners-up come from both areas. The top winners are awarded cash prizes and trophies at the Mayborn Conference in July and are published in the journal and on the website.

Students and alumni of the Mayborn School of Journalism have been published in Ten Spurs. Any student who is not employed by the Mayborn School of Journalism by the writing contest deadline is eligible to enter. Details on the writing contest can be found at the Mayborn Conference website. The contest typically opens the first of each year.

To read some essays from previous Ten Spurs’ journals see our past publications.

To purchase the current journal or past Ten Spurs’ journals, contact the Graduate Student Coordinator.

Email the Mayborn:


For prospective student information: moremayborn@unt.edu

For transfer course information: JOURAdvising@unt.edu

For inquiries, internship & other inquiries: journalism@unt.edu