If you don't know which MSOJ person you should contact with your particular need, contact us and we'll get you to the right person. 

Main Office:
Sycamore Hall 206
University of North Texas
(940) 565-2205

View location on the campus map.
Looking for the right person to help you? If you know the person you need to speak with, you can search the listing by name. Or, you can search within a group based on your needs.

Dean's Office

James Mueller headshot
James Mueller
Associate Dean and Professor
Mandy Outlaw
Administrative Coordinator
Deborah Matassa headshot
Deborah Matassa
Assistant to the Dean
Jake Straka headshot
Jacob Straka
Communications Specialist
Deane Marshall
Media Technical Manager
Ladaniel Maxwell
Equipment Room Manager

Graduate Institute

James Mueller headshot
James Mueller
Associate Dean and Professor
Koji Fuse headshot
Koji Fuse
Associate Professor
Kara Greene
Graduate Student & Program Coordinator


Thorne Anderson
Professor, Mayborn Endowed Chair in Narrative & Multimedia Journalism
Todd Bennett
Adjunct Professor
Bryan Lochhead
Adjunct Professor
Aaron Thomas
Adjunct Professor

Print and Digital

James Mueller headshot
James Mueller
Associate Dean and Professor
Randy Loftis headshot
Randy Loftis
Senior Lecturer
Newly Paul headshot
Newly Paul
Associate Professor
Alex Copeland headshot
Alex Copeland
Adjunct Professor
Annette Fuller headshot
Annette Fuller
Adjunct Professor
Russell Luna headshot
Russell Luna
Adjunct Professor
Christian McPhate headshot
Christian McPhate
Adjunct Professor
Sarah Blankenship headshot
Sara Blankenship Reynolds
Adjunct Professor
Charlie Scudder headshot
Charlie Scudder
Adjunct Professor
Joe Trahan headshot
Joe Trahan
Adjunct Professor
EJ Vernon headshot
EJ Vernon
Adjunct Professor


Brittany McElroy
Senior Lecturer
Steven Ackermann
Visiting Lecturer
Chris Pilcic
Adjunct Professor
Aaron Thomas
Adjunct Professor

Public Relations

Koji Fuse headshot
Koji Fuse
Associate Professor
Gwen Nisbett headshot
Gwen Nisbett
Associate Professor
Rebecca Poynter headshot
Rebecca Poynter
Senior Lecturer
Jake Quintanilla headshot
Jake Quintanilla
Adjunct Professor


Roy Busby PhD (Retired)
Regents Professor
Sara Champlin
Associate Professor
Jad-√Čvangelo Nasser
Larry Powell
Assistant Professor of Practice
Megan DeSoto
Adjunct Professor
Marta Mensa
Assistant Professor
Freda Metoff
Adjunct Professor

Advising Office

Stephanie Garza, MEd PASA
Director of Advising
Caleb Reed
Senior Academic Advisor
Alex McCray
Associate Academic Advisor
Daniel Salinas
Academic Advisor

Board of Advisors

Doug Adams headshot
Doug Adams
CEO/COO, National Repertory Orchestra (Retired)
Leona Allen headshot
Leona Allen
Deputy Publisher, The Dallas Morning News
Patty Arellano-Tolotta headshot
Patty Arellano-Tolotta
Vice President of Marketing for Lennox, Residential
Sarah Burns headshot
Sarah Burns
Farrah Cox
Global Head of Integrated Marketing, Cisco
Graham Douglas headshot
Graham Douglas
Co-Founder, Creative Director for Gus.biz
Sandy Diaz Haley headshot
Sandy Diaz Haley
Founder, SDH Communications
Becky Kimbro headshot
Becky Kimbro
Vice President of Strategic Brand Engagement, San Antonio Spurs
Theresa Kushner headshot
Theresa Kushner
Partner, Business Data Leadership
Sue Mayborn headshot
Sue Mayborn
Editor & Publisher, Temple Daily Telegram and Killeen Daily Herald
Leslie O. Mba headshot
Leslie O. Mba
Senior Counsel, Texas Instruments, Inc.
Cheryl Richards headshot
Cheryl Richards
Senior Vice President/Chief Diversity & Inclusion Officer, VisitDallas
Kara Schectman headshot
Kara Schectman
Marketing Director for Benchmark Income Group
Angela Smith headshot
Angela Smith
Writer/Editor/Communications Consultant
Veronica Sopher headshot
Veronica Sopher
K12 Communications Expert/Consultant
Wendi Strong headshot
Wendi Strong
Executive Vice President of Corporate Communications, USAA (Retired)
Brian Sweany headshot
Brian Sweany
Principal, Genuine Article
Olmar Vanegas headshot
Olmar Vanegas
Head of Corporate Social Content and Strategy, McKesson Corporation
Trent Walters headshot
Trent Walters
Brand Management Principal, TRG
Terri West headshot
Terri West
Senior Vice President (Retired), Communications & Investor Relations, Texas Instruments
Tina Young headshot
Tina Young
President, Founder and CEO of Marketwave