Scripps Howard Fund Emerging Journalists Program


The Mayborn School teams up with the Scripps Howard Fund to train the next generation of journalists.

The Mayborn School of Journalism is thrilled to be one of two universities chosen to be a part of the Emerging Journalists program, an initiative by the Scripps Howard Fund to help create the newsrooms of tomorrow. This three-year program provides $300,000 to fund a variety of academic programs and student scholarships.



2023 Update!

Scripps Howard Fund Emerging Journalists Program

After spending a week on campus in June learning from Mayborn faculty and mentors throughout the journalism field, this year's cadre of high school journalists have fanned out to learn from the experts serving in internships at various local media in the region.

News & Updates About the Program

Check out some of the stories our students reported - and published - in recent months:,41111

Fatima Syed Adrianna Mendez
Anh Wendy Le
Ashlyn Poole
Autumn Copeland
Brian Murray
Flora Farr
Irene Zhang
Isabella Sandoval
Issac Mercado
Lilith Swint
Lizzie Bassett
Madison Scott

Mariam Jalloh

Pragnya Kaginele

Rusty Gonzales

Samara Penny

Sawyer Dodd

Shania Maugham

Sruja Peruka

Tatiana Cheatham

Congratulations to our new cadre of Teaching Ambassadors for the 2023 Scripps Howard Fund Emerging Journalists program.

Candace Bagwell
Heritage High School, Frisco
Sara Boyle
Stratford High School, Houston
Kristi Canon
Lake Ridge High School, Grand Prairie
  Britney Crowe
Samuel Clemens High School, Schertz
Katie Dean
Robert E. Lee High School, Baytown
Trisa Dyer
Denison High School, Denison
Margaret Edmonson
Smithson Valley High School, San Antonio
Sara Gonzales
Patricia E. Paetow High School, Katy
Stephen Green
Caney Creek High School, Conroe
Tabitha Houchens
Redwater High School, Texarkana
Lillian Harris
Bellaire High School, Bellaire
Kenneth Perkins
Weatherford High School, Weatherford
Margie Raper
Rock Hill High School, Frisco
Kari Riemer
Hendrickson High School, Pflugerville
Brenda Slatton
San Antonio Christian High School, San Antonio
  John Sohel
Lake Ridge High School, Mansfield
Linda Wilson
Caprock High School, Amarillo
  Melinda Wood
Summer Creek High School, Houston

Read the full press release from UNT

Download the full press release from Scripps Howard Fund

Check out exciting news coverage of the Mayborn's emerging journalist program