This guide was created by UNT News Capstone students to provide the local community with important information about issues in Denton County going into the 2020 election.

The issues displayed in this guide are ones students believe to be important to Denton County for residents to conveniently find and be well-informed voters.

In addition to these stories, students have also included a voting guide for Denton County voters before heading into the voting booth. With this guide, we hope to create an all-in-one place for voters to conveniently inform themselves and feel prepared for this election.

Explore the buttons below to find out more information about issues important to the community.

About the Capstone

The Mayborn School of Journalism offers a senior-level news capstone class that encompasses all that the students' have learned. Since this semester coincides with the 2020 election, this project allows the students to present information to the community in a way that fits in with the values they've learned throughout their time at UNT and the Mayborn School of Journalism.



Brittany Mcelroy
Randy Loftis


Alexandria Northington Jaelene Ramirez
Alexandria Owens James Mueller
Alexis Anglin Jasmine Hicks
Anastasia Logan Kelsey Jones
Azmar Khan Kirsten "Breck" Sunlin
Blake Reed Laura Yepez
Brooke Lampe Makare Gray
Carlynn Greene Michelle Nguyen
Charles Smith Mirella Mendoza-Patino
Connor Elliott Nicole Levy
Courtni Gilder Olivia Rodriguez
Daija Bostic Oscar Suarez
Dominique Weaver Sarah Berg
Emilio Ancantrada Sheridon Evans
Erica Rhodes Ta'Corian Tilley
Fiona Scoggin Tyler Pressley
Gavin Dunaway Van Malone
Haley Arnold Yanira Tagle
Hunter Baugh Zachary Cottam